The Cabonne LGA is located adjacent to the Mitchell Highway and the Broken Hill railway line, surrounding the City of Orange and located 3.5 hours from Sydney.
Known as the "Australia's Food Basket", Cabonne a rich rural shire covering the towns of Canowindra, Cargo, Cudal, Cumnock, Eugowra, Manildra, Molong and Yeoval. The area is home to the site of Australia's first gold rush and is famous for ballooning, food and wine, agriculture and mining.
As at the 2016 census, the population of the Shire was estimated to be 13,860. More than half of the businesses in the region, being 858 of 1683, are classified as part of the agricultural sector.
Home of the annual Australian National Field Days, the locality of Borenore is home to 621 people and attracts nature lovers and those in search of locally produced food and beverages.
Borenore Caves Reserve is an ideal place to enjoy a picnic lunch, wander along the well-developed walking track, and explore the many wonders, including the Tunnel Cave, Arch Cave and the unique landscape that develops when water interacts with the soluble rock, limestone.
Nestled within historical buildings and museums, a unique ‘bendy’ main street and surrounded by fertile rural land, Canowindra is an arts and tourism hub.
Canowindra has still maintained a charmingly friendly small-town atmosphere with 1,499 people and is well known for its ballooning and fish fossils.
A scientifically significant 360 million year-old fossil find is the foundation for the Age of Fishes Museum. The Historical Museum is also worth a visit. Canowindra also has a colourful bushranger heritage to explore steeped in folklore.
Visitors and locals alike enjoy Canowindra’s local produce, dining and wine experiences, cafes, country pubs, and clubs.
Originally established as a gold rush boom town, Cargo has emerged today as a relaxed country town with 278 people. It offers a slower pace of life with the advantage of being a short commute to the large centre of Orange.
Gold mining was initially established in the area in the 1860s and the township was proclaimed a goldfield in 1869. Between that time and 1899, the town swelled to a population of around 7,000.
Cargo at peak boasted three hotels, a bank, several business houses, three churches, two schools, a flour mill, community hall, butter factory, gold crushing plant, a racecourse and sporting grounds for tennis, cricket and football.
Today the village has a strong community spirit which prides itself on supporting the sporting groups, Primary School, Community Hall and other local organisations.
Traditional industries are still very much a part of the landscape with the town surrounded by both sheep and cattle properties sitting alongside smaller lifestyle blocks.
Settled along the Boree Creek, Cudal emerged via the “Free Selection” laws of the 1860s and discovery of gold at Forbes.
Cudal is a perfect point, roughly half-way between Orange and Eugowra for a stop-off.
The area boasts fertile farming land with a strong history in wool, fat lambs, cattle, wheat and canola production. Viticulture and large-scale egg production have added to the diversity of the region.
The old EW Corden Commercial Exchange Stores is a perfect example of early 1900s architecture in the town. The building now houses the Cabonne Food, Wine and Cultural Centre.
Cudal is well appointed with facilities for a village of its size, being home to 389 people. The town boasts a new hospital, town pool and a popular picturesque caravan park. The town is also serviced by a Primary School, childcare/pre-school facility, a bowling club and accommodation.
One of the smallest settlements in Cabonne with 288 people, Cumnock is a tranquil rural village with a wide main street flanked by vibrantly painted telegraph poles – “The Happy Poles of Cumnock”.
The ‘Animals on Bikes – Paddock Sculptures’ on Obley Road are also a drawcard for the town. Created by local farming families, community groups, and sculptors, the 120-kilometre trail features more than 100 structures and letterboxes on the back road from Molong via Cumnock, Yeoval and on to Dubbo Zoo.
A proven rugby legend breeding ground with a strong sporting ethos, Cumnock has turned out five Australian Wallaby players. There must be something in the water because they grew up on the same road.
The rural sector is the main industry of the town with wool production, sheep, cattle and grain growing.
Located in the Lachlan River Basin, Eugowra is a picturesque town nestled along the Mandagery Creek, and is home to 634 people.
Eugowra is in the heart of bushranger country and is most famous for Australia’s biggest gold robbery by Frank Gardiner’s gang at Escort Rock. Only a portion of the loot was ever recovered which resulted in many tales.
This and other local stories have been immortalised in murals throughout the town and displays at the Historical Museum and Bushranger Centre.
Eugowra is rich in community involvement with several highly successful events (including the Canola Cup, and the Murals and Car Show) hosted each year.
Eugowra is a great base for exploring the natural wonders of the area including Nangar National Park, Back Yamma State Forest, the Mandagery Creek and the Lachlan River.
The town is well known for cattle, timber, feed and hay production, and the unique granite used in the construction of the new Parliament House.
Situated on the banks of the Mandagery Creek, Manildra is a grain processing centre with the biggest flour mill in the southern hemisphere, the Manildra Flour Mill.
The mill runs 24 hours a day and is the hub of the area. It not only plays a huge role in the activity, employment, and economic stability of Manildra, but visually dominates standing proud and tall against the rural landscape.
Australia's oldest continually operating picture theatre, the Amusu Theatre, is also located in Manildra. Allan Tom started the theatre in 1923 as a travelling picture show before making it a permanent feature of the town in 1936. The theatre still screens new release films surrounded by the old-world charm of yesteryear.
The town is home to 487 people and features a friendly country style pub, takeaway cafe, a town pool and several town parks. Fishing in the Boree or Mandagery Creeks is a popular past-time of visitors and locals alike.
1,569 people, historic buildings, a National Trust classified Main Street, leafy streets and rolling countryside greet visitors to Molong. The name Molong is from an Aboriginal word meaning “place of many rocks”.
Classified by the National Trust, the main street is a good example of early Australian-European architecture complimenting the many historical buildings scattered throughout the town.
The town lays claim to the burial place of explorer Sir Thomas Mitchell’s indigenous tracker - Yuranigh. The site is marked on the Mitchell Highway towards Orange by Aboriginal scar trees. Yuranigh was a man of special honour after accompanying Sir Mitchell on an expedition to Queensland in 1845.
The area has a long rural history producing wheat, sheep, wool, cattle, fruit and wine. Cellar doors, the Yarn Market, recycled metal art, galleries, cafes, country pubs, and charming B&B’s draw visitors to the area in search of a relaxed country experience.
Molong also hosts many unique events including the – Molong Music and Arts Festival, NSW Sheep Dog Trials, markets and the Molong Players Annual Production.
Set amongst rugged hills that dip down into winding streams, the Mullion Creek/Ophir area is historically significant to the Australian gold movement. You can almost imagine the panners tipping over their pans on every creek turn.
The Ophir region was not only the first payable goldfield discovered in 1851, but it went on to become the oldest continually worked goldfield in Australia weaving with it a rich social and cultural history.
Ophir Reserve is still known as a great place to experience fossicking, gold panning, fishing, bushwalking and relaxing with a picnic.
Mullion Range State Conservation Area combines mountain vistas with peaceful plateaus and dramatic volcanic systems. It is a magical spot for bushwalking, picnicking, swimming in crystal waters, waterfalls, fishing and animal watching (native parrots, owls, gliders, possums and platypus).
The residents are community-oriented, banding together to beautify the locality which offers unique country living within 10 minutes of the city of Orange.
Experience Nashdale’s rolling hills and rich volcanic soil at the foot of Mount Canobolas - an ancient volcano and the highest peak between the Blue Mountains and the Indian Ocean.
Nashdale is a small, but busy little locality with 361 people, a main through-road dividing it and intensive agriculture lining each side of the road for as far as the eye can see.
The area has developed a reputation for produce stalls, cellar doors and boutique restaurants all meandering through winding roads set amongst the orchards.
Nashdale is a destination for afternoon drives and weekend explorations. The essence of Nashdale can be enjoyed gastronomically or on foot if you are adventurous through the bush of the Mount Canobolas State Conservation Area.
Nashdale boasts a picturesque and highly popular school with a very active community-minded group supporting it.
Located a short drive from Spring Hill, you will find Spring Terrace. It is a rural locality ideal for those looking for a hobby sized block of land. It has a small public school that caters for students from kindergarten to year 6.
Yeoval is home to 292 people. Famous Australian storyteller and poet, A.B “Banjo” Paterson, spent the first seven years of his life growing up on the family property ‘Buckinbah’ on the edge of Yeoval.
Yeoval has embraced the poet’s connection to the area developing the Banjo Paterson Bush Park and a dedicated museum exhibition featuring an audio tour. Lined with works of art, the Poet’s Walk features carved slate seats and clay tile walls.
The Bush Park features nine sculptures. The centrepiece is one the largest public artworks in Australia – a six-metre-high bronze abstract of English sculptor, Henry Moore, weighing in at six tonnes.
Yeoval is situated on the doorstep of the Goobang National Park which is popular for camping and walking. The town has a historical museum and some nice examples of old buildings with character including a country style pub.
The Orange Region is situated within the traditional lands of the Wiradjuri Nation. We acknowledge the traditional custodianship of these lands, and pay our respect to the Wiradjuri people for their care and stewardship of these lands for more than 40,000 years and to the Elders of the Wiradjuri Nation past, present and future.